Press "Enter" to skip to content

Start Searching the Answers

The Internet has many places to ask questions about anything imaginable and find past answers on almost everything.

Who Ruled England Before Victoria?

Who Ruled England Before Victoria?

Kings and Queens of Britain

Kings of Wessex (West Saxons)
name dynasty or house reign
William IV Hanover 1830–37
Victoria Hanover 1837–1901
Edward VII Saxe-Coburg-Gotha 1901–10

Which king ruled before Queen Victoria?

George V

George V
Names George Frederick Ernest Albert
House Windsor (from 1917) Saxe-Coburg and Gotha (until 1917)
Father Edward VII
Mother Alexandra of Denmark

How did Victoria become queen?

Her father died shortly after her birth and she became heir to the throne because the three uncles who were ahead of her in the succession – George IV, Frederick Duke of York, and William IV – had no legitimate children who survived. On William IV’s death in 1837, she became Queen at the age of 18.

Who was the King of England in 1910?

Edward VII, born Prince Albert Edward (November 9, 1841–May 6, 1910), ruled as king of the United Kingdom and Emperor of India as the successor to his mother, Queen Victoria.

How did Victoria become fifth in line to the throne?

Ascension to the Throne At birth, Victoria was fifth in line to the throne. However, upon her father’s death in 1820, Victoria became the heir apparent, since her three surviving uncles — who were ahead of her in succession— had no legitimate heirs who survived childhood.

Who was the king and Queen of England in 1801?

George III, King of Great Britain, became King of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland on 1 January 1801. Anne, Queen of England and Queen of Scots, became Queen of Great Britain on 1 May 1707. Monarch’s total length of reign is the sum of the two reigns displayed.

Who are the kings and Queens of Great Britain?

The following is a list, ordered by length of reign, of the monarchs of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (1927–present), the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland (1801–1927), the Kingdom of Great Britain (1707–1801), the Kingdom of England (871–1707), the Kingdom of Scotland (878–1707), the Kingdom of Ireland ( …