Press "Enter" to skip to content

Start Searching the Answers

The Internet has many places to ask questions about anything imaginable and find past answers on almost everything.

Which compromise set a boundary between free and slave states?

Which compromise set a boundary between free and slave states?

Missouri Compromise: Primary Documents in American History Enacted in 1820 to maintain the balance of power in Congress, the Missouri Compromise admitted Missouri as a slave state and Maine as a free state.

Where was the border established between free states and slave states?

They were Delaware, Maryland, Kentucky, and Missouri, and after 1863, the new state of West Virginia. To their north they bordered free states of the Union and to their south they bordered slave states of the Confederacy, with Delaware being an exception to the latter.

Which act upset the balance between slave and free states?

Known as the Kansas-Nebraska Act, the controversial bill raised the possibility that slavery could be extended into territories where it had once been banned. Its passage intensified the bitter debate over slavery in the United States, which would later explode into the Civil War.

What was the slave and free states before the Civil War?

The slave and free states as of 1861, with free states in red and slave states in blue. In the United States of America prior to the American Civil War , a slave state was a U.S. state in which slavery of African Americans was legal, whereas a free state was one in which slavery was either prohibited or eliminated over time.

When did the balance between slave and free states collapse?

As indicated by the statehood dates, the balance between slave and free states was maintained until the admission of California in 1850. Overall, the institution of slavery and the failure of the competing interests surrounding the institution in government led to the collapse in the balance between slave and free states and the Civil War.

Where did the abolition of slavery take place?

States began moving toward abolition of slavery during the American Revolution. For instance, by the mid-1780s five of the original thirteen states ( New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Connecticut, and Rhode Island) had abolished slavery in their state constitutions.

What was the dividing line between the free and slave states?

The geographic divide between northern free states and southern slave states became the Mason–Dixon line. In 1820, the Missouri Compromise extended the Mason–Dixon line westward as the official dividing line between free and slave states east of the Ohio River.