Press "Enter" to skip to content

Start Searching the Answers

The Internet has many places to ask questions about anything imaginable and find past answers on almost everything.

What is the pressure belt of the earth?

What is the pressure belt of the earth?

On the earth’s surface, there are seven pressure belts. They are the Equatorial Low, the two Subtropical highs, the two Subpolar lows, and the two Polar highs. Except for the Equatorial low, the others form matching pairs in the Northern and Southern Hemispheres.

What is pressure belt class 9?

Answer: The distribution of atmospheric pressure across the latitudes is termed as global horizontal distribution of pressure and represented as pressure belts, e.g. Equatorial low, Sub-Tropical High, Circum-polar low and Polar High pressure belts.

What are high pressure belts?

(Or subtropical ridge.) One of the two bands of high atmospheric pressure that are centered, in the mean, near 30°N and 30°S latitudes. These belts are formed by the subtropical highs.

Where do the pressure belts occur?

One notable example is the Hadley Cell, a movement of warm air from the tropics that rises, flows toward the poles and then cools and sinks at around 30 degrees north and south of the equator. This movement creates belts of low pressure in the tropics and high pressure in the temperate zone where the air sinks.

What are the names of the pressure belts?

The seven pressure belts are :

  • equatorial low,
  • the sub-tropical highs,
  • the sub-polar lows, and.
  • the polar highs.

Can pressure belts reverse?

During winter, these conditions are completely reversed and the pressure belts shift south of their annual mean locations. Opposite conditions prevail in the southern hemisphere.

What is the main cause for high pressure belt?

The main causes for high pressure belt of earth…. Due to the spherical shape of the Earth, the pressure belts are formed as the air is heated and cooled in different places and at different magnitudes due to the difference in the heat of the sun’s rays on the surface of the Earth.

How do pressure belts affect climate?

When the air sinks it creates an area of high pressure. Winds blow from areas of high to low pressure, which transfers the air from where it is sinking to where it is rising. This continual transfer of wind maintains the pressure belts of high and low pressure which create different global climatic zones.

What causes the different types of pressure belts?

Pressure belts are caused due to unequal heating of the earth and its atmosphere. The major pressure belts on earth are Equatorial Low Pressure Belt, Sub-Tropical High Pressure Belt, Sub-Polar Low Pressure Belt and, Polar High Pressure Belt. Equatorial low pressure belt extends up to 5° North and South of the equator.

Where are the pressure belts on the Earth?

Pressure belts are the regions of earth’s atmosphere which have been created due to different pressures in these zones. They extend along the latitudes. There are major 5pressure belts of earth:

How does the equatorial low pressure belt work?

Thus, warmed air expands, becomes light, and consequently rises upward causing low pressure. The equatorial low pressure belt represents the zone of convergence of north-east and south-east trade winds.

Why is The doldrum belt called a low pressure belt?

This low pressure belt extends from 0 to 5° North and South of Equator. Due to the vertical rays of the sun here, there is intense heating. The air therefore, expands and rises as convection current causing a low pressure to develop here. This low pressure belt is also called as doldrums, because it is a zone of total calm without any breeze.