Press "Enter" to skip to content

Start Searching the Answers

The Internet has many places to ask questions about anything imaginable and find past answers on almost everything.

What is the other name of Asia?

What is the other name of Asia?

Asia. The word Asia originated from the Ancient Greek word Ἀσία, first attributed to Herodotus (about 440 BCE) in reference to Anatolia or to the Persian Empire, in contrast to Greece and Egypt. It originally was just a name for the east bank of the Aegean Sea, an area known to the Hittites as Assuwa.

Why is Asia known as?

Asia is called as the continent of contrast because: It has the highest point on the earth, Mt. Everest (8,848m) and also have the lowest exposed point on the Earth, Dead Sea, 400m below the sea level. Asia has some of the densely populated places like India and China.

How did the continent of Asia get its name?

Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc. The name Asia is ancient, and its origin has been variously explained. The Greeks used it to designate the lands situated to the east of their homeland. It is believed that the name may be derived from the Assyrian word asu, meaning “east.”

Which is the most interesting continent in Asia?

Asia Continent. Most of Southwest Asia is desert. One of the most fascinating places to visit is the Dead Sea. It’s located at the lowest point on earth. The Dead Sea is 417 meters below sea level. It’s the world’s saltiest body of water. It’s so salty that most living things cannot survive in it.

Which is the largest country in Asia Minor?

Asia Minor is usually synonymous with Asian Turkey, which is made up of almost the entire country. The southeastern and eastern border of Asia Minor is the current border of Turkey with neighboring Armenia, Iran, Iraq, Georgia, Azerbaijan, and Syria. About 95% of Turkey’s land is in Asia Minor.

How many regions of Asia are there in the world?

Asia is surrounded on three sides by oceans. The Pacific, Artic, and Indian oceans all surround Asia. The land of Asia is divided into six regions. These six regions are North Asia, Central Asia, Southwest Asia, South Asia, Southeast Asia, and East Asia. Each region has something unique to offer. North Asia is also known as Siberia.